Reduced rent in exchange for farm work

Live in the country while still in the city! 

Looking for a responsible adult tenant, non smoker, who cleans up after themselves, to rent a room in my house who is willing to do farm chores in exchange for some reduction on rent.

I must be out of town for work on occasional trips.  I have a 3 bedroom house just under 2 km west of the village of Richmond, 30 minutes from Downtown and 15 minutes from the Barrhaven park and ride. I normally have 2 tenants in the house and I am there periodically.
Experience with livestock is a plus but my best past tenants had no livestock experience and did fine. I have a couple of well-behaved horses, chickens, sheep, and a large vegetable garden.
You must like animals, be able to work unsupervised, and be willing to do chores when your work is scheduled: rain snow or shine. 


Chores would entail feeding animals, providing hay, filling water, collecting eggs, and some vegetable garden work. The work is roughly 45 minutes per chores session and we do chores twice daily. Previous tenants have had day jobs so this will work if you have to go to your daytime work each day.
Its a great opportunity for someone who is healthy and fit to reduce their living costs. The rent is $695 per month all inclusive but you have the opportunity to reduce your rent down to $450 per month There are opportunities to work extra hours in the summer as there is an onsite farm shop and the farm also markets vegetable baskets to clients with a weekly pickup.
Some tenants in the past have also been provided garden space, some former tenants brought their horses (costs of horses are a separate conversation and agreement) One of my former tenants had chickens and pigs. Absolutely NOT keen on additional house pets as there are more than enough here. But not all people and pets are the same so I am willing to look at certain pets. However, any tenant with pets will have to provide a damage deposit prior to moving in. 

Sorry no large dogs will be allowed.. 

This rate is for 1 adult. I have had inquiries from couples and parents with children. I currently have room for one  tenant only.
Please email with some information about yourself, age, animal experience, if you work during the day, and anything else you may think is relevant. As this is quite a unique price on rent I want to point out that we are looking for the person with the right fit not the first person that responds.

Please get in touch with further questions via email  at rhanbidge@gmail.com 


No un-announced drop ins please